Feeling more comfortable!

I’ve been avoiding my blog a bit as I was unsure of really where to get started.  After our session with Sue Waters on Tuesday I think I’m wrapping my head around educational blogging.  I took some time this week to watch the recommended video by Sue called “What is a blog?”  and I also went through some of the resources she recommended through Edublogs.

So, what stuck with me this week…

“Blogging isn’t publishing! It is about social learning.”

This quote made me think about the Blogging Cycle Sue showed us and about my participation in this class.  The creation of the blog wasn’t just for me to post but for others to comment and for me to comment to others.  The importance of feedback for all of us in what we are sharing stuck with me this week so I set up Feedly to help me better manage our class blogs. Clive Thompson’s Audience Effect is something else I explored this week.  In the article Thinking Out Loud he discusses how we take things more seriously when we have a valid audience.

From this information this week I have recommitted (even though it is mandatory for this class and only October) to being a better blogger.  I will blog, respond to comments made on my blog, and comment on my fellow classmates blog.  The assignment isn’t to make a blog it is to engage in social learning and that I will do.

7 thoughts on “Feeling more comfortable!

  1. Hi Beige

    Glad my session helped you feel a bit more comfortable. And you deserve some gold stars (or chocolate treats) — “The assignment isn’t to make a blog it is to engage in social learning and that I will do”

    Alec’s approach to these courses where you are interacting via blogs, Google+, Twitter and so on focus on immersing and connecting you with each other to help you experience social learning and connected learning, To appreciate how these technologies help you need to experience how it changes your learning.

    You may find reading through the Class hub ( http://eci831.ca/hub/ ) works better for you than Feedly. I had forgotten that Alec uses a feed hub, However, long term learning how to use Feedly will help with subscribing to blogs outside of class.

    I’m not sure if my work follow would help? If I’m mainly reading blogs and articles I use my tablet whereas if I intend to spend time commenting I’ll often do the reading/commenting sitting at my computer as it is faster than on my tablet.

    You may find the personal blogging series helpful for this course – http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/personal-blogging/ as it includes tips for this type of blogging.

    Here is a tip that helped me when I’ve participated in social learning. I’ll often hold off on publishing my post while I read through what everyone else is publishing and while I am adding my comments to their posts or interacting in the community. This helps me reflect on what they’ve learnt compared to me then I’ll write my post pulling in components of what I’ve learnt from them and my own reflections. If you decide to use this approach it is worth linking to their post and providing a quote of something they said that made you reflect. I didn’t have time to show how to link during the session. It can be confusing so let me know if you need some tips of how to do it.

    Sue @suewaters

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to my blog. You were right it seems more meaningful when you know someone is actually reading. Also thank you for the resource I will check it out in the next few days and let you know what I need help with!

      Like

  2. Great post Beige. Personally I have to try to ‘get out of my head” and just jump in with both feet. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes because that is how we learn. I am experimenting with something new each time I log in to my blog. That means that my posts take longer then I want them to but I am learning! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the support Lisa. You described me perfectly, I am in my head too much trying to figure every little thing out beforehand instead of just trying it. Nice to see others experimenting as well.

      Like

  3. Loved your link to Thinking Out Loud…

    “But focusing on the individual writers and thinkers misses the point. The fact that so many of us are writing — sharing our ideas, good and bad, for the world to see — has changed the way we think. Just as we now live in public, so do we think in public. And that is accelerating the creation of new ideas and the advancement of global knowledge.”

    Amazing to be a part of the big picture.

    Also, I appreciated Sue’s suggestion about pulling in comments from others’ blogs into a synthesis of learning that links to their blogs as resources. Great way to connect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

