If life is a game, shouldn’t we be on the same team?

The title of my post today comes from the above video, “A Pep Talk” from Kid President.  This video is a reminder to me that working together will always be better than acting alone.

The content of my mooc this week was focused around teachers and coaches needing to have shared instructional vision. Which really got me thinking about what we need as professionals in the field of education.  We need each other.  We need support.  We need to know that everyone has a shared instructional vision.  Education needs to be focused on what has the biggest and best impact on students regardless of what we like to do, what we have done in the past, or what is easy.  I think this is where the job of an effective coach comes in.

Education should be a student-facing vision.

link

When planning between an effective coach and teacher there needs to be shared vision in order fro teacher buy in to occur and for the teacher to see the effects of their changes on student learning.  This week a few strategies for effective coaches to help create shared vision were introduced.

One was the use if a rubric when observing teachers.  I though it was interesting although the example used was focused solely on teachers new to the profession.  I think with proper creation a rubric may be an effective tool for helping teachers make changes within their practice.  The rubric was data orientated and gave the participants (coach and teacher) a good clear shared vision on what was expected. In order to use a rubric idea within other contexts I think it would have to be carefully created with division initiatives in mind and discussed prior to any coaching taking place.  What do you think about coaching peers using a rubric, effective or not?  Would it be a helpful guide for discussing shared vision or would it be a reason for teachers to not play on the same team?

10 thoughts on “If life is a game, shouldn’t we be on the same team?

  1. Yes, I agree! I am finding that first hand this year. I am team teaching this year and it is so much easier to have someone to plan and discuss students with. The intent of many schools is to plan collaboratively and provide support to one another but I always found that time was a factor. Now, I’m able to collaborate with someone who’s already in my room. So much better!

    Like

  2. I am doing Daily 5 collaboratively with the other grade two teacher and our response to intervention teacher. I have enjoyed so much working with both ladies and working together to create the best learning opportunities for our students. It is very beneficial to be able to be able to brainstorm ideas with other colleagues about strategies that can be used to help students improve and grow in the different areas that they need more support in.

    Our school division developed a self reflection questionnaire where we rate ourselves using the given scale in a variety of areas such as classroom environment, planning, assessment, classroom management, etc. at the end of each year. There is also room for teachers to make comments and explain our thinking when rating ourselves for each question. After we sit down and meet with our administrator about our self reflection to discuss our strengths and areas that we would like to work on. Our Professional Growth Plan is created by choosing areas from the self reflection that we would like to work on. When my administrator comes to observe me those are the areas that he looks at while completing the observation. I have found it to be very beneficial and it allows me to reflect on my teaching and best practices.

    Like

    1. What an interesting way to plan for your PGP. I can see how the reflection would be beneficial.

      Your administration observes you? Wow I don’t know if that has ever happened to me except in my first year teaching. What a great way for them to be in touch with their teachers and classrooms.

      Like

      1. My administration will not be doing a long observation like I had completed in the first two years that I taught, but when they pop into my room they will check in how it is going and how my goals are going. It is nice to get positive feedback and get a few tips along the way. In the teaching profession there is always so much to learn and grow as a professional.

        Like

  3. I am in a position where I am Teacher Behaviour Coach and, as such, there to observe students who are struggling with behavioural issues in the regular classroom and then brainstorm strategies to help teachers with those particular students or the class overall. Of course, sometimes the observation turns into teacher observation as much as student observation and because that is neither my role nor my intention, I have no rubric to follow. When the situations arise where it is evident that there needs to be an issue addressed with my colleague, I provide a bird’s eye view representation of the goings on in the classroom and then ask questions that arise out of that view point. I think a rubric would be great BUT I am never sure what I am walking into and sometimes what the teacher might think I should be looking for doesn’t come up but something else is blatantly obvious and can’t be ignored…sometimes I find myself between a rock and a hard place!

    Like

    1. For sure that is a rock and hard place. Observing in classrooms can definitely lead to that issue. I can send you an example of the rubric if you are interested just let me know.

      Like

  4. Beige – you are doing a reflecting on and connecting to the content of your MOOC – now try to focus more on the learning process as well – that is, what’s it like to learn in a MOOC? What works, what doesn’t? Who might this format work better for? Also, remember that you can still be linking to external posts, etc. in your major project reflections!

    Like

  5. Good tips Katia, thank you for taking the time to check out my blog. I’m really trying, at first I was very reluctant but am genuinely starting to enjoy the process now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

